Interview with Lana Stefanac

lana stefanac

Lana is a heavyweight champion! This american from Trinity JJ defeated Kyra Gracie by 5 to 2 in the absolute final of the Jiu-Jitsu World Championship. She scored with a takedown and guard pass, while the Gracie scored with a sweep. Now welcome back to the ADCC!

How did you get into MMA and what is your experience with martial arts?

Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu is a lifestyle for me, I train usually twice a day every day if not hindered by injuries. I have a background in Aikido, and a little Kempo. BJJ is my blood, though.

I have fought all over the country in the following tournaments and run a record of (143-0-0) in gi, my professional no-gi and amateur no-gi record is (63-3-0).  I have never been tapped out thus far, my 3 losses were highly disputed technical losses, but to very experienced females, I have cleaned up one loss and look now to avenge the other 2.

I recieved my blue belt from Relson Gracie, and my brown from Randy Bloom.

How did you become the coach for an all-female fight team and can you tell me how many are on the team and what are some of your plans to compete?

We have right now about 20 girls, of them, about 3 or 4 I would put against the toughest females out there. I am working with some local promoters and friends who have been tireless in their efforts to work with my women by getting them into some pro fights.

How did you get your nickname LETHAL FORCE?

That nickname came I think from the 2006 PanAms, I smoked through all the females in my division mostly by tapout and mostly in less than a minute, people were saying I was “Lethal”, and the name followed me ever since. When I got into MMA, my record was still going around a minute or two by submission, so hence the “Lethal Force”.

What would you like to accomplish with your career?

I want to accomplish the exact same thing as any other pro female or male, to be the best at my game, and be able to make a living off doing what I love. My biggest goal is to get my black belt in BJJ and open up my own academy where I will specialize in training women fighters. Too often there is a stigma attached to females that they “slept” their way up to a black belt or into a show, I want to be that one female that other women can look up to and say “look she did it through hard work blood and sweat, so can I”. In the meantime, my dream is to acquire financial sponsoreship so that I can train hard all the time and focus on being the best of the best.
Single? Married? Kids? Can you give me a little information on your personal background.

I married to a Sgt. Detective who is extremely wonderful and supportive of all my wild training, figthing and traveling, whom without I could not be half the person I have become so quickly just this year alone. I do not have kids nor do I want them, but I love kids and I particularly love to teach children.

font: Lana Stefanac’s official web-site

Leave a Reply

